Quilting Around The World
Quilting Forum Quilt Group Quilting Forum Quilt Group Quilting Forum Quilt Group Quilting Forum Quilt Group Quilting Forum Quilt Group Quilting Forum Quilt Group Quilting Forum Quilt Group
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

marigold
#1 Posted : Monday, August 7, 2017 8:58:04 AM(UTC)
marigold

Kind of a whine alert. Bring cheese and crackers!

By the calendar I have been quilting for a few years now...but by actual machine time it's been waaayyyy less. I've tried a beginner's quilting class at a LQS (not that great), looked at lots of quilting books, done internet research and watched lots of YouTube videos. Sometimes it's very confusing--honest beliefs that you should press to the dark only or press open; always prewash, never prewash; tons of methods to baste and bind, etc.

I am usually discouraged with what I finally end up with. I try to do it right and then discover that somehow I've shot myself in the foot with my decisions (like choosing to press seams open on a disappearing 4-patch). I can see what I did wrong but not how to do it better the next time. Although I usually seem to do pretty well with matching seams and corners (yay, me) I cannot seem to put on a decent binding or know how to choose and do the simplest quilting designs.  So I often feel like I've ruined my work at the end.

I really enjoy seeing all the beautiful work that is posted. And I assume that probably most of you great quilters have previously struggled with getting it right. I wondered if you might share your own bumpy roads. What are the parts of creating a quilt that have given you problems? And how did you overcome them?

Right now, repeating over and over to myself that "Done is better than perfect. Done is better than perfect. Done is better than perfect." is so far the only thing keeping myself from sitting in a corner feeling sorry for myself. And that's not very attractive OR helpful.